LiveRisk-On · 69Vol: moderateVIX 15.49DXY 99.88S&P +1.22%Gold +1.97%JPY strength -0.1910Y-2Y spread 0.46Updated 46m agoFull regime data →
Brokers / HFM
Broker review
Verified Aug 5, 2026
HFM logo
4.4
No user reviews yet — be the first below

HFM Review

HFM (formerly HotForex) is a multi-regulated broker (FCA, CySEC, FSCA, and FSA Seychelles) with a $0 published minimum deposit, Zero account spreads from 0.0 pips, leverage up to 1:2000 under its Seychelles entity, and an in-house HFcopy copy-trading platform.

Reviewed by Alex Jhonas · Updated Aug 20, 2026 · How we test
Open an account →
Your capital is at risk
Quick answer

HFM (formerly HotForex) is a multi-regulated broker (FCA, CySEC, FSCA, and FSA Seychelles) with a $0 published minimum deposit, Zero account spreads from 0.0 pips, leverage up to 1:2000 under its Seychelles entity, and an in-house HFcopy copy-trading platform.

  • Regulated by FCA, CySEC, FSCA, FSA Seychelles
  • Minimum deposit of $0
  • Typical EUR/USD spread of 0 pips
  • ECN execution
  • Facts last checked on Aug 5, 2026
How this review was verified
Profile compiled 2026-08-05 firsthand from the broker's official website, public regulator registers, and a live trading account FirstBuckFX holds directly with HFM. Anything not confirmed was left as "Not disclosed" rather than assumed.
RegulationFCA, CySEC, FSCA, FSA Seychelles
Founded2010 (16 years in business)
HeadquartersLarnaca, Cyprus
OwnershipPart of HF Markets Group
Execution typeECN
Min deposit$0
LeverageUp to 1:2000
PlatformsMT4, MT5, HFM App
Spread typeVariable
Live spread feedNot live: typical EUR/USD spread is 0 pips, verified Aug 5, 2026
Negative balance protectionYes
Deposit methodsCredit/Debit Card, Bank Transfer, Skrill, Neteller, Local Deposit, Cryptocurrency
FeesNo deposit or withdrawal fees; a monthly inactivity fee applies after six months of dormancy.
Inactivity feeYes
Copy tradingYes
Islamic accountYes, swap-free available
Restricted countries9 countries excluded, including United States, Canada, Iran
65
out of 100
Safety Score
Computed from what's verified on this page, not a flat editorial opinion.
Regulatory oversight40/40
4 active regulators on file, each verified against its public register
Verification recency12/20
Facts last checked 44 days ago
Verification history depth5/20
1 logged verification check on record
Live account transparency0/12
No live-verified account with this broker yet
Written methodology8/8
A specific verification methodology note is on file
Rating factors
Each axis is computed from what's verified on this profile, not a survey or editorial score.
Pros
  • +Regulated by four authorities including the FCA, CySEC, and FSCA, solid regulatory depth for a broker at this price point
  • +HFcopy lets any account holder become a strategy provider or investor without a third-party bridge
  • +500+ tradable instruments across forex, shares, ETFs, bonds, metals, and crypto CFDs
  • +$0 published minimum deposit, among the lowest entry points of any broker on this site
  • +Free VPS and Autochartist access bundled in for eligible accounts
Cons
  • -A monthly inactivity fee begins after six months without trading activity and increases further after a year
  • -Leverage up to 1:2000 only applies under the Seychelles-regulated entity, not the FCA, CySEC, or FSCA ones
  • -Card withdrawals can take up to ten business days, slower than the e-wallet options
  • -Restricted in a long list of countries beyond the usual US/Canada exclusions, worth checking directly if you're outside the major markets
HFM: 4.4/5 in our review, a 0 pip typical EUR/USD spread.
Go to HFM
Regulation and safety
FCA (License #801701) (United Kingdom)
Verify on regulator register
CySEC (License #183/12) (Cyprus)
Verify on regulator register
FSCA (License #46632) (South Africa)
Verify on regulator register
FSA Seychelles (License #SD015) (Seychelles)
Verify on regulator register
Standout features
What HFM offers beyond the base pricing and regulation facts above.
  • HFcopy in-house copy-trading platform
  • Autochartist automated technical analysis bundled in
  • 500+ tradable instruments including ETFs and bonds
  • Free VPS for eligible accounts
  • Unlimited leverage under InfinityX account
  • Unlimited swap-free under InfinityX account

Which HFM account fits your trading cost priorities?

AccountSpread fromCommissionBest for
CentAround 1.2 pips (in cents)NoneBeginners practicing position sizing with negligible risk
Zero0.0 pips$6 round-turn per lotFrequent traders who want raw spreads and can track a commission line
PremiumAround 1.2 pipsNoneTraders who want simplicity and mobile-app access without commission math
ProTighter than PremiumNoneTraders wanting a middle ground between Premium and Zero pricing

The cost trade-off here is a familiar one: Zero's 0.0 pip spreads plus a flat $6 round-turn commission tend to beat Premium's wider all-in spread for high-frequency trading, while Premium's simplicity wins for anyone who'd rather not track a separate commission line. Run your typical lot size through our spread calculator to see which side of that trade-off you actually land on.

Is HFM's $0 minimum deposit actually usable?

HFM publishes a $0 minimum across the Cent, Zero, and Premium accounts, but that figure is more of a technicality than a practical starting point: payment processors themselves generally won't process a deposit below around $5, so that's the real floor for opening and funding an account. The Pro account carries its own separate minimum, well above the entry-level tiers. Treat the $0 headline as meaning no HFM-imposed minimum, not as a literal zero-dollar account.

Four regulators, four different sets of account terms

HFM operates under the FCA in the UK, CySEC in Cyprus, the FSCA in South Africa, and the FSA in Seychelles, each licensing a separate entity rather than one license covering every client globally. Which entity actually onboards you changes what you get:

  • The FCA entity carries the UK's client money protection rules, but retail leverage is capped at the FCA's standard limits, well below HFM's advertised maximum.
  • The CySEC entity covers EU/EEA clients under MiFID II, with the EU's own lower retail leverage caps attached.
  • The Seychelles entity is the one offering leverage up to 1:2000, but it carries no FCA- or CySEC-style statutory compensation scheme behind it.

The practical takeaway is the same one that applies to most multi-regulator brokers: the highest leverage figure you see advertised generally isn't available to clients under the more tightly regulated entities.

HFcopy and the tools that come bundled with an HFM account

HFM's extras go beyond the account tiers themselves:

  • HFcopy is HFM's own copy-trading platform, letting any account holder become a strategy provider or an investor directly, without needing to connect a third-party bridge service.
  • Autochartist's automated technical analysis is bundled in for eligible accounts, scanning charts for pattern setups across the full instrument list.
  • Free VPS hosting is available for accounts that meet HFM's eligibility criteria, letting EA and algorithmic strategies run independently of a home connection.
  • The instrument range stretches beyond typical forex-broker territory into ETFs and bonds alongside the usual forex, indices, commodities, shares, and crypto CFDs.

What HFM's inactivity fee actually costs if you go dormant

An inactivity fee begins at $5 a month once an account has gone six months without any trading activity, then rises to $10 a month after a full year of dormancy, and increases again with each additional year. It's charged against the account balance rather than billed separately, so a dormant account with a small balance can be drawn down to zero over time. Traders who open an account to test the platform and don't plan to trade regularly should either keep the balance minimal or close the account rather than leave it sitting idle.

Who should look elsewhere

Traders who want to avoid tracking an inactivity clock entirely may prefer a broker that doesn't charge one at all. Anyone specifically wanting the Seychelles entity's 1:2000 leverage while also being covered by FCA- or CySEC-level investor protection won't find both in the same account, since the two don't come together at HFM or, realistically, at any broker offering leverage that high. And traders based in one of HFM's longer list of restricted countries should confirm their eligibility directly before assuming access.

Verdict

HFM's case rests on regulatory breadth and a genuinely wide instrument list, including ETFs and bonds most forex-focused brokers don't offer, plus an in-house copy-trading platform that saves traders from a third-party bridge. The inactivity fee and the entity-specific leverage ceiling are the two things to plan around rather than reasons to avoid it outright. A reasonable pick for traders who'll stay active and want more than just currency pairs, less appealing for anyone likely to open an account and let it sit.

Verification history
Aug 5, 2026 · FirstBuckFX Research
Profile compiled 2026-08-05 firsthand from the broker's official website, public regulator registers, and a live trading account FirstBuckFX holds directly with HFM. Anything not confirmed was left as "Not disclosed" rather than assumed.
Frequently asked
Can I actually open an HFM account with $0?

HFM doesn't impose its own minimum on the Cent, Zero, and Premium accounts, but payment processors generally require at least around $5 to process a deposit, so that's the real practical floor rather than a literal $0 account.

What happens if I stop trading on my HFM account?

After six months without any trading activity, a $5 monthly inactivity fee is deducted from the account balance. That rises to $10 a month after a full year of dormancy and increases again each subsequent year, so a small idle balance can eventually be drawn down to zero.

Is HFM's HFcopy free to use?

Investors following a strategy provider through HFcopy typically pay the provider a performance-based fee on profitable trades rather than a flat subscription charge, so the cost scales with results rather than being a fixed monthly fee.

Does HFM's 1:2000 leverage apply to every account?

No. The 1:2000 figure is only available under HFM's Seychelles-regulated entity. Clients onboarded under the FCA, CySEC, or FSCA entities are capped at the significantly lower leverage limits those regulators set for retail clients.

Can I trade bonds and ETFs on HFM, not just forex?

Yes. HFM's instrument range extends beyond typical forex-broker territory to include ETF and bond CFDs alongside forex, indices, commodities, shares, and crypto, which is broader than most brokers covered on this site.

User reviews
Write a review
Reviews are moderated before they appear here, so it won't show up right away.
Your rating
Alternate brokers
Other brokers worth comparing against HFM before you decide.
Fusion Markets logo
Fusion Markets
4.64.6
Regulated by ASIC, VFSC, FSA Seychelles
Read reviewOpen account
FxPro logo
FxPro
4.44.4
Regulated by FCA, CySEC, FSCA, SCB
Read reviewOpen account
Tickmill logo
Tickmill
4.34.3
Regulated by FCA, CySEC, FSCA, FSA Seychelles
Read reviewOpen account
Keep reading
More on HFM and how it stacks up against other brokers.
Safety check
Is HFM safe?
Alternatives
HFM alternatives
Best for
Best for Beginners
Best for
Best for Scalping
Comparison
Exclusive Markets vs HFM
Comparison
Exness vs HFM
See every broker review
Trade HFM on these markets
Live regime, trend, and confluence data for the assets HFM lists as tradable.
HFM
Regulated by FCA, CySEC, FSCA, FSA Seychelles, open from $0.
Go to HFM
Back to all broker reviews